Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1960 and Prof. R. P. Jeerath was the founder Head of the Department. After Prof. Jeerath, in 1975, The Department was guided by Dr. Ram Murthi, followed by Dr. Shakti Rais Ahmad, Dr. A. K. Choudhry, Dr. A. R. Shah, Dr. A. S. Bali, Dr. Siraj Ahmad, Dr. S. A. Shah, Prof. Tabassum Ara, Dr. J. A. Banday and Prof. Kowsar Kowsar Majid. Presently, it is being run under the headship of Prof. Hamida-Tun-Nisa Chisti. About twenty five Ph. Ds and 35 M. Phils have been produced by the Department till date. The faculty members of the Department have published many scientific papers and reviews in National and International journals of repute. Research, in the areas of Physical, Organic, Inorganic, Environmental chemistry, Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Nanomaterials, Biofuels and Electrochemistry are being carried out in the Department.